Multiship gameplay

edited August 2016 in EmptyEpsilon
I would have called the post "multiplayer", but it's always the case with 6 players per ship..!

More and more people get to know Empty Espilon, and a few larps and conventions appear looking for activities with many players and many ships. This post is a wish to open the discussion about questions, problems and suggestions for the features of the game in a multiship environment.

I'll start by making a few list of the topics that could be discussed here :

1. - player compared to playerS in the code.
2. - Customizable ships
3. - player vs player... and the factions
4. - multiplayer scenarios
5. - Communication across players and factions.
6. - Game stability
7. -

----

1. "Player" in the code.
I've had some issues working with many ships in the code. Since i'm quite new to all this, I tired to start from parts of the code of other scenarios to create new ones. Since all current scenarios are meant for 1 player (or 2 in one scenario), the player is always identified as "player" in the code.

When working with 3 to 7 ships, I had to create different names for every ship. ex :

GuerrillaRadio = PlayerSpaceship():setFaction("Arianne"):setTemplate("Camelot")
GuerrillaRadio:setTypeName("GuerrillaRadio"):setCallSign("TGR")

Then if I wanted to create an event when any player pass in an area, it became complicated... I though maybe to call for something like "if PlayerSpacship() then", or repeat the function for all ship names.

- Am'I doing this right ?
- Is there a way to affect all players ship's at once ? like by sending a message or tweaking the ship.
- Have you had some toughts or ideas about this ?

:)

Comments

• 2. Customizable Ships