Mixed Android/Linux issue - Versions

Hi there.

I'm pretty new to this kind of games,and githb in general.

I was quite happy top be able to build a running version of Empty epsilon, but stumbled in a problem i was unable to solve:

I buildt the the files in Linux (Ubuntu 16.04) and it was running.
I installed the APK and was not able to connect to the server.

After a few minutes i found the issue (I guess):
The Linux machine runs version 2017.04.16 and the APK is version 2017.02.23

Being new to github and building from sources i tried the following:
I went to https://github.com/daid/EmptyEpsilon/tree/EE-2017.02.23 , deleted the emptyepsilon folder on my machine, downloaded the ZIP and tried to build again.

But, Alas!

I got version 2017.04.16 again... where is my mistake?

Comments

• edited April 2017
    Hi, and welcome aboard!

The default is to use the current system date for the version number.
    But however, you can change that by editing the file CMakeLists.txt
    Recently, there was also an update to allow to override the default on the cmake commandline, however it did not work for me last time I tried.

But maybe I just made a typo, so you can try this first:
    https://github.com/daid/EmptyEpsilon/pull/434

If it won't work, do this:
    - open the file CMakeLists.txt in your EmptyEpsilon source directory
    - search the line add_definitions(-DVERSION_NUMBER=${CPACK_PACKAGE_VERSION_MAJOR}${CPACK_PACKAGE_VERSION_MINOR}${CPACK_PACKAGE_VERSION_PATCH})
    - now you can either set the version number by replacing everything after the "=" sign, or comment out the line (placing a # in front of it).
    Commenting out will set the number to 0, which is meant for debugging and accepted by all versions.
  • Thank you!

But - isn't that a bit.. counterintuitive and... wierd.. for a game that is supposed to be played by multiple players on multiple computers?

Do you expect every player to install the game the same day the server guy did?