Building from source

edited March 2015 in EmptyEpsilon
I've found I like emptyEpsilon. I've played with Artemis and found it fairly polished looking, but I have a distinct preference for the graphics in emptyEpsilon (Radar - cool) as well as the fact that source is available. I began to wonder if I could get it up on my unix machines (and I'd love to interface some hardware too ). Anyway, I downloaded source for the game, SeriousProton, and SFML to my unix machine, fired up CodeBlocks, and spent several hours trying to figure out why SeriousProton files couldn't be opened until I noticed that CodeBlocks expected the files to be in the directory "SeriousProton", not "SeriousProton-master". Then voila, everything compiled with no errors until it came to looking for SFML libraries. Couldn't find them. At least I assume it's looking for libraries to link to.  it's looking for something like:

ld       -lsmfl -window -d

etc.

I'm fairly new to CodeBlocks - can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks,
Gene

Comments

• Rename the SFML folder to SFML-2.1. 
    Also make sure you choose the right Build. Linux Debug/Linux Release for Linux, Debug/Release for Windows.
  • Thanks for the reply - Directory is SFML-2.2 which agrees with EmptyEpsilon.cbp file and linux debug is selected. I'm thinking maybe codeblocks needs search directories properly set up but I'm not sure just how.

• Last I saw SFML-2.2 was only for Windows builds. Haven't tried it on Linux.

Here's what your directory structure should look like:

SeriousProton/
    EmptyEpsilon/
    SFML-2.1/

If you're just trying to build it, you can use the the python script.
    python make_cbp.py debug
    or
    python make_cbp.py release
  • Kwadroke is right, the codeblocks file asumes that the SFML files are located one folder above the location of the project file.

If i remember correctly, Ubuntu doesn't have the latest version of sfml precompiled, so you will need to do that yourself.