UI Design Help?

I've just now discovered Empty Epsilon, as I'm a huge fan of Artemis, this game has really piqued my interest.

First, I love that the game is open source, and I'd love to get involved in some way. Has a UI revamp been considered? I'm a professional designer and I'd love to try my hand at some UI design for a bridge simulator.

Would the current contributors to the game be interested in this?

Comments

• For now, the images representing the different boxes, buttons and sliders can be modified (in the "resources" folder). You can see for reference the modifications done by @TrevorHillHand, inspired by BSG : bridgesim.net/discussion/171/ts-mods
  • I can tell you, the main developer (me) would be interested in this.

I'm an embedded engineer by nature. I know nothing of design (both graphical and interaction wise)

The current ways it can be modified "as it is" are limited, as it's using only 2 images. But if you make mockups, I can go from there quite quickly most likely.

Note that the UI is build out of widgets, and some layout magic is happening. Best to see when you put the game into window mode and resize it. Some widgets are "attached" to the left, right or center of the screen.
  • I'd like to see some mockups! So bring it on! I would like to see more improvements to the UX, than adding graphical overhead. F.e. engineering view could be arranged a bit better etc. My advice is to play the game for a bit to understand the pain points and start iterating from there.

I can also help if needed, at least give constructive critic in good manner. :)
  • I'll definitely work up some mockups (I've actually already started, but nothing to show yet).

I downloaded the game last night and played around with the UI to get a good idea of how things function, I've got some ideas already for things like the overheating of certain elements.